00:18'15'' by Valentin Mériot

A show proposed by La Place de la Danse - CDCN Toulouse / Occitanie

Les Abattoirs
le Parvis
Free Entrance


00:18'15'' by Valentin Mériot is a show proposed by La Place de la Danse - CDCN Toulouse / Occitanie in partnership with Les Abattoirs as part of the Saint Cyprien neighborhood festival.

5 young dancers immersed for 18 minutes and 15 seconds in the rhythm of Einstein on the beach by Philip Glass to face the emergency.

Valentin Mériot revisits the aesthetics and principles of postmodernity where the music asserts dynamic lines that stylize a space and imposes on the bodies a physical commitment pushed to exhaustion. A piece that evokes the current youth in the grip of modern times that impose an increasingly frantic rhythm. An offbeat vision of American minimalism, theatrical, burlesque and playful.

Valentin Mériot started dancing in Vitry-sur-Seine at the age of 16 in hip-hop with Fouad Boussouf, then participated in the TryËma collective of dancers in Vitry with the group Nucleo 2 of Lia Rodrigues. He prepares his EAT at the isdaT - higher institute of arts and design of Toulouse in 2017, trains at the RIDC - Rencontres Internationales de Danse Contemporaine where he obtains in 2019 his State Diploma of contemporary dance teacher. In 2018, he dances in La Traviata at the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées. From 2019 to 2021, he integrates the Extensions training of La Place de la Danse - CDCN Toulouse / Occitanie. During his years of training, he met different choreographers during creations like Régine Chopinot, Christine Gérard, Pauline Maluski, Nans Martin, Julie Nioche... He is currently dancing in Marion Muzac's Étreinte(s) and is working on the choreographer's future projects.

Delegated production: La Place de la Danse - CDCN Toulouse / Occitanie - Conception : Valentin Mériot - Interpretation : Evane Duguet, Jimmy Monneron, Marie Begasse, Steven Nacolis et Valentin Mériot - Music : Philip Glass, Einstein on the Beach - Sound arrangement : Christophe Ruetsch - Outside views : Sandrine Maisonneuve, Valérie Castan et Chloé Ban.