Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in Toulouse, FRAC Midi-Pyrénées

Marion Baruch

A Retrospective
From 16 December 2020 to 19 september 2021
les Abattoirs
Marion Baruch, Lasciar cadere, 2018. Voile de polyester, 260 x  560 cm. Courtesy Sammlung Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst

Marion Baruch gives pride of place to her fabrics, free from functionality. Selected for their colour or material, the artist pulls these fabrics tight, suspends them, or stretches them, thus employing them as a backdrop for her reflection on the environment and overconsumption in the fashion world. The exhibition spans a period of time from the 60s to the 80s and builds on the artist’s questioning of herself as a brand.

Marion Baruch (born in 1929 in Timișoara, Romania) first came into contact with fabric in the 1970s. She stitched a piece of black material into a geometric shape and then wore it in the streets of Milan. In the context of the debate on the liberation of the body, in particular women’s bodies, wearing this dress-blanket that entirely covered her signalled the beginning of her critical thinking around movement, the body, the face, identity, and the self. By focusing on fabric in fashion, an economic world most often reserved for men, Marion Baruch questions the ties between the manufacturing industry and art.

Today, in a reflection on the environment and a debate on overconsumption, the artist retrieves off-cuts from textile and garment factories in the Rue du Sentier neighbourhood in Paris and in Italy. The defects in these fabrics, which come from production lots that the industry cannot use, become their very strengths. Now that they are no longer functional, the only things that can make a new artwork possible are the colours and materials. The artist takes them in her hand, touches them, cuts them up, and then, most especially, stretches them or lets them hang, allowing them to fill in or trace the void, as if, paradoxically, all of space could be contained and revealed in these fleshless shapes.

This exhibition is part of the season of fabric at Les Abattoirs.

To go further: the association AWARE (Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions) has published a documented page on Marion Baruch https://awarewomenartists.com/artiste/marion-baruch/

In partnership with the Kunstmuseum Luzern.


With the support of the AG2R LA MONDIALE company foundation for artistic vitality.

les Abattoirs, Musée - Frac Occitanie Toulouse

Marion Baruch

Une rétrospective
Du 16 décembre 2020 au 30 mai 2021
les Abattoirs
Marion Baruch, "Continent du vide", 2017, tissu, 355 x 155 cm ; Collection les Abattoirs, Musée - Frac Occitanie Toulouse © Marion Baruch © Galerie Anne-Sarah Bénichou

Marion Baruch fait la part belle à ses tissus libérés de toute fonction. Récupérés pour leur couleur et leur matière, l'artiste les tend, les accroche et les étire avec comme toile de fond une réflexion sur l'écologie et la surconsommation liée au monde de la mode. L'exposition part des années 60 jusqu'aux années 89 et la remise en cause de l'artiste en tant que marque.

Le premier contact au tissu de Marion Baruch (née en 1929 à Timișoara, Roumanie) remonte aux années 1970. Elle coud un tissu noir en une forme géométrique qu'elle revêt par la suite dans les rue de Milan. Dans un contexte de débat sur la libération du corps, en particulier celui de la femme, porter cette robe-couverture qui la recouvre entièrement, marque le début de sa réflexion sur le mouvement, le corps, le visage, l’identité, soi-même. En s'emparant du tissu et de la mode, monde économique bien souvent réservé aux hommes, Marion Baruch questionne les liens entre l'industrie de la création et l'art.

Aujourd'hui, dans une réflexion écologique et un débat sur la surconsommation, l'artiste récolte dans les rues du Sentier à Paris et en Italie, les restes des ateliers de confection des usines de mode. Les défauts des tissus, des chutes inutilisables pour l’industrie, deviennent leur force. Ce sont désormais leurs couleurs et leurs matières seules, hors de toute fonction, qui font le possible d’une nouvelle œuvre. L’artiste les tâte, les touche, les découpe, et surtout les tend, les laisse pendre, les laisse emplir le vide ou le dessiner comme si, paradoxalement, tout l’espace pouvait désormais être contenu et révélé par ces formes décharnées.

Cette proposition s'intègre dans la saison sur le tissu aux Abattoirs.

En partenariat avec le Kunstmuseum de Lucerne.

Avec le soutien de la Fondation d’entreprise AG2R LA MONDIALE pour la Vitalité artistique.