Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in Toulouse, FRAC Midi-Pyrénées

¡Dulces Sueños!

Artistes de la scène contemporaine espagnole
From March 15 to November 3, 2019
les Abattoirs
Carlos Aires, "Sweet Dreams (are made of this)", 2016

Echoing Goya and Picasso, the exhibition ¡Dulces Sueños! focuses on the contemporary Spanish scene, showcasing a dozen Spanish artists of the young generation, native Spaniards or Latin Americans, whose works are characterised by their political commitment.

El sueño de la razon produce monstruos [The Sleep of Reason Produces Monsters]: in the late eighteenth century, Spanish artist Francisco de Goya gave this title to an etching that has become one of the most famous from the Enlightenment period. The artist’s dreams are invaded by disturbing creatures, whose origin is left to our appreciation: are they caused by the usual uncanniness of dreams or by foresight on the part of the artist, who glimpses future social, political, and human monstrosities?

In 1936, Goya was an inspiration for Picasso when he also created in an etching the surrealist story Sueño y mentira de Franco [The Dream and Lie of Franco]. Three years after Picasso’s death and one year after Franco’s, this graphic series was presented once again in 1976 at the Venice Biennale, where Spanish artists and intellectuals held the España, vanguardia artística y realidad social exhibition [Spain: Artistic Avant-Garde and Social Reality], the first official free and anti-Francoist event since the Spanish Republican Pavilion at the International Exposition in Paris in 1937. It was during these same years that the effervescent Movida emerged, a movement of freedom and transgression, excelling at music, film, photography, and painting, shaping a Spanish scene that assumed a form at once festive, expressive, and provocative, while retaining a conceptual and political dimension.

The origin of this title is itself historic and current: the exhibition opens on a video by Carlos Aires, a surprising tango, the Argentinian dance of exile, performed in an historic, baroque setting by two police officers in helmets and combat gear, to the sound of Sweet Dreams (“Dulces Sueños”) by The Eurythmics.

Set to this bittersweet and pulsating air, the melancholic joy of music, history, and prohibition are intertwined. In Spain, it is still forbidden to photograph police officers.

The dozen artists presented question how even today Spanish history re-emerges in society, while the old debates on the Civil War continue to mark current events, whether these are Franco-related or concern the forgotten identity of the anonymous dead during the war. Broadly speaking, these artists also question the resurgences of postcolonial history and the challenges of global history: a history that has meant – and means – that we chose and still choose to exploit others economically, culturally, sexually, or politically. When will the “sweet dreams” (Dulces Sueños) become realities?

The ¡Dulces Sueños! exhibition devised by Les Abattoirs has enjoyed the expertise of Manuel Segade, curator and director of the Centro de Arte Dos de Mayo (CA2M) in Madrid and Marta Gili, art critic and curator and former director of the Jeu de Paume (Paris), for the work of Jordi Colomer.

Several of these artists and others from the Spanish scene are also present in the exhi-bition programme Je suis né étranger [I'm a native foreigner] designed by les Abattoirs for the whole Occitanie region.

Featured artists:
- Pilar Albarracín (born in Seville in 1968, lives in Madrid)
- Carlos Aires (born in Ronda in 1974, lives in Madrid)
- Juan Carlos Batista (born in 1960)
- Daniel García Andújar (born in Almoradí in 1966, lives in Barcelona)
- Jordi Colomer (born in Barcelona in 1962, lives in Barcelona and Paris)
- Democracia (Spanish art group 2006, Madrid)
- Esther Ferrer (born in Saint-Sébas- tien in 1937, lives in Paris)
- Dora García (born in Valladolid in 1965, lives in Barcelona)
- Núria Güell (born in Vidreras in 1981, lives in Vidreras)
- Glenda León (born in Havana in 1976, lives in Havana and Madrid)
- Daniela Ortiz (born in Cuzco in 1985, lives in Barcelona)
- Pedro G. Romero (born in Aracena in 1964, lives in Seville)
- Oriol Vilanova (born in Manresa in 1980, lives in Brussels)

les Abattoirs, Musée - Frac Occitanie Toulouse

¡Dulces Sueños!

Artistes de la scène contemporaine espagnole
Du 15 mars au 3 novembre 2019
 
les Abattoirs
Carlos Aires, "Sweet Dreams (are made of this)", 2016

En écho à l’œuvre de Goya, Le sommeil de la raison engendre des monstres (1799) et celle de Picasso, Songe et mensonge de Franco (1937), l’exposition ¡Dulces Sueños! met l’accent sur la scène contemporaine espagnole avec une dizaine d’artistes de la jeune génération, natifs ou originaires d’Amérique latine, dont les œuvres sont marquées par l’engagement.

"Le sommeil de la raison engendre des monstres" (El sueño de la razon produce monstruos) : à la fin du XVIIIe siècle, l’artiste espagnol Francisco de Goya donne ce titre à une gravure devenue l’une des plus célèbres du siècle des Lumières. Les songes de l’artiste endormi y sont envahis d’inquiétantes créatures, dont l’origine est laissée à notre appréciation : sont-elles engendrées par l’étrangeté inquiétante habituelle aux rêves ou par cette prescience de l’artiste qui entrevoit les monstruosités sociales, politiques et humaines à venir ?

En 1936, Goya est une inspiration pour Picasso lorsqu’il grave lui aussi l’histoire surréaliste des "Songe et mensonge de Franco" (Sueño y mentira de Franco). Cette série graphique est présentée de nouveau en 1976, trois ans après la mort de Picasso et un an après celle de Franco, à la Biennale de Venise, où des artistes et des intellectuels espagnols organisent l’exposition España, vanguardia artística y realidad social ("Espagne, avant-garde artistique et réalité sociale"), premier événement officiel artistique libre et antifranquiste depuis le Pavillon républicain espagnol à l’Exposition internationale de Paris en 1937. C’est dans ces mêmes années que surgit l’effervescente "Movida", mouvement de liberté et de transgression, qui s'illustre dans la musique, le cinéma, la photographie et la peinture, façonnant une scène espagnole qui s’écrit désormais à la fois sous une forme festive, expressive et provoquante tout en conservant aussi une part conceptuelle, politique et engagée.

L’origine du titre de l'exposition est elle-même historique et actuelle : l’exposition s’ouvre sur une vidéo de Carlos Aires, un étonnant tango, danse argentine de l’exil, interprété dans un décor historique baroque par deux policiers casqués en tenue de combat, au son de Sweet Dreams ("Dulces Sueños") de Eurythmics.

Sur cet air entraînant et doux-amer, la joie mélancolique de la musique, l’histoire et l’interdit se rencontrent. En effet, en Espagne, il est toujours interdit de photographier des policiers.

La dizaine d’artistes présentés questionnent aujourd’hui encore l’histoire espagnole ressurgit dans la société, alors que les débats mémoriaux sur la guerre civile continuent de marquer l’actualité, que ce soit celle de Franco ou de l’identité oubliée des morts anonymes de la guerre. Plus largement, ces artistes interrogent aussi les résurgences de l’histoire postcoloniale et les défis de l'histoire mondiale, celle qui fait que l’on a choisi, ou que l’on choisit encore d’exploiter l’autre, économiquement, culturellement, sexuellement ou politiquement. A quand des "doux rêves" (Dulces Sueños) devenus réalités ?


L’exposition ¡Dulces Sueños! conçue par les Abattoirs bénéficie de l’expertise de Manuel Segade, commissaire d’exposition, directeur du Centro de Arte Dos de Mayo (CA2M) à Madrid et de Marta Gili, critique d’art et commissaire d’exposition, ancienne directrice du Jeu de Paume (Paris), pour l’œuvre de Jordi Colomer.


Plusieurs de ces artistes et d’autres de la scène espagnole sont également présents dans le programme d’exposition "Je suis né étranger" conçu par les Abattoirs pour l’ensemble de la Région Occitanie.


Artistes présentés :
- Pilar Albarracín (née à Séville en 1968, vit à Madrid)
- Carlos Aires (né à Ronda en 1974, vit à Madrid)
- Daniel García Andújar (né à Almoradí en 1966, vit à Barcelone)
- Jordi Colomer (né à Barcelone en 1962, vit à Barcelone et Paris)
- Democracia (équipe de travail espagnole 2006, Madrid)
- Esther Ferrer (née à Saint-Sébastien en 1937, vit à Paris)
- Dora García (née à Valladolid en 1965, vit à Barcelone)
- Núria Güell (née à Vidreras en 1981, vit à Vidreras)
- Glenda León (née à La Havane en 1976, vit à La Havane et Madrid)
- Eugenio Merino (né en 1975 en Espagne, vit à Madrid)
- Daniela Ortiz (née à Cuzco en 1985, vit à Barcelone)
- Pedro G. Romero (né à Aracena en 1964, vit à Séville)
- Oriol Vilanova (né à Manresa en 1980, vit à Bruxelles)