Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in Toulouse, FRAC Midi-Pyrénées

Archives : 2019

Archives : 2019

Du 24 janvier au 24 février 2019
les Abattoirs
After its presentation at the INHA (Institut national d’histoire de l’art, Paris) and at the Dakar Biennale, les Abattoirs exhibit Sismographie des luttes. Non-European magazines from the 18th to the 20th century, towards a global history, a video installation sound gathering nearly 900 documents. Read more
 
  • Dora Maar, Picasso sur un escabeau devant "Guernica", dans l’atelier des Grands -Augustin, Paris, en mai-juin 1937, collection musée national Picasso Paris, photogr. NB © Adagp, Paris, 2018 © Succession Picasso, 2018 ; photogr. RMN / Grand Palais (musée national Picasso Paris)
From 15 march to 25 august 2019
les Abattoirs
Les Abattoirs, Musée - Frac Occitanie Toulouse presents an exhibition dedicated for the first time to the relationship between Picasso and the Spanish Exodus. Spanning three floors of Les Abattoirs, it explores how the historical and personal upheaval of the Exodus affected Picasso and many other artists of his generation. Read more
 
  • Carlos Aires, "Sweet Dreams (are made of this)", 2016
From March 15 to November 3, 2019
les Abattoirs
Echoing Goya and Picasso, the exhibition ¡Dulces Sueños! focuses on the contemporary Spanish scene, showcasing a dozen Spanish artists of the young generation, native Spaniards or Latin Americans, whose works are characterised by their political commitment. Read more
 
From 15 march to 13 july 2019
les Abattoirs Library
This exhibition presents 140 publications from the Spanish exodus selected by Javier Campillo from the Instituto Cervantes and the curator of the exhibition. This selection covers a period ranging from 1919 to the 1970s while remaining firmly representative of the years 1939-1950. Read more
 
From 15 march to 13 july 2019
les Abattoirs Library
Echoing the exhibition of publications on the Spanish exodus, Sandra Lorenzi (born in 1983, lives and works in Montreuil) occu- pies the spaces of the Abattoirs library and deploys a complex fictional world there, comprising totemic sculptures accompanied by testimonies: À eux, aïeux [To Our Ancestors]. Read more
 
From September 18 to 21, 2019
Galerie des Publics des Abattoirs - Free entry
Opening on Saturday 21st September at 12:00
As part of the eighth edition of the Grolandais International Film Festival in Toulouse, "Mondo Cannibalis" brings together more than 80 international artists who pay tribute to the mondo aesthetic and cannibalistic films. Read more
 
  • Carolee Schneemann, "Parts of a Body House". Texte. In : Wolf Vostell & Dick Higgins. Fantastic Architecture, [New York] : Something Else Press, 1969. Pages 62, 65 – 72, 77 – 80
From 20 september 2019 to 8 february 2020
les Abattoirs Library
A key figure in American and international art, Carolee Schneemann (1939–2019) was a pioneer in performance art and the relationship between cinema and art, as well as being a trailblazer for an early generation of feminist artists. Her work also demonstrates her reflection on the body and the social status of women. This exhibition is in homage to the artist, who passed away recently. Read more
 
  • "Abstract Expressionnist Portrait of Donald Trump", 2018 (détail) © The Artist, Collection privée, courtesy Michael Werner Gallery, New York and London
From 20 september 2019 to 26 january 2020
les Abattoirs
This exhibition, the first retrospective of this magnitude by the artist in France since 1999, covering his career since the late 1950s through to the present day, brings together around a hundred works (paintings, graphic arts, etc.), many previously unseen, as well as a collection of archive materials. Read more
 
From September 27 to January 5, 2020
les Abattoirs
Since April 2019, Rose Beton invites artists to make Toulouse an open-air gallery, a city more than ever international and colorful. For a highlight now unavoidable of the Biennale, three artists from the international scene are moving to les Abattoirs. Read more
 
  • Marion Mounic, "Open", 2018, boîtier d’enseigne lumineuse, néon flexible sur batterie, machine à brouillard, © Marion Mounic ; photo : Cyril Boixel
From 22 november 2019 to 9 february 2020
les Abattoirs
The Mezzanine Sud Award accompanies and highlights emerging artists of contemporary art in connection with Occitania. The laureates benefit from exposure and production support. Charlie Aubry, the Collective PFFF and Marion Mounic are the selected artists of this 2019 edition. Read more

les Abattoirs, Musée - Frac Occitanie Toulouse

Archives : 2019

Archives : 2019

Du 24 janvier au 24 février 2019
les Abattoirs
Après sa présentation à l’INHA (Institut national d’histoire de l’art, Paris) et à la Biennale de Dakar, les Abattoirs exposent Sismographie des luttes. Les revues non-européennes du 18e au 20e siècle, vers une histoire globale, une installation vidéo-sonore réunissant près de 900 documents. Plus d'infos
 
  • Dora Maar, Picasso sur un escabeau devant "Guernica", dans l’atelier des Grands -Augustin, Paris, en mai-juin 1937, collection musée national Picasso Paris, photogr. NB © Adagp, Paris, 2018 © Succession Picasso, 2018 ; photogr. RMN / Grand Palais (musée national Picasso Paris)
Du 15 mars au 25 août 2019
les Abattoirs
Les Abattoirs, Musée - Frac Occitanie Toulouse proposent une exposition consacrée pour la première fois aux rapports entre Picasso et l'exil espagnol. Déployée sur deux étages des Abattoirs, elle explore comment le bouleversement historique et personnel de l’exil a touché Picasso, et aussi nombres d'artistes qui lui étaient contemporains. Plus d'infos
 
  • Carlos Aires, "Sweet Dreams (are made of this)", 2016
Du 15 mars au 3 novembre 2019
les Abattoirs
En écho à l’œuvre de Goya, Le sommeil de la raison engendre des monstres (1799) et celle de Picasso, Songe et mensonge de Franco (1937), l’exposition ¡Dulces Sueños! met l’accent sur la scène contemporaine espagnole avec une dizaine d’artistes de la jeune génération, natifs ou originaires d’Amérique latine, dont les œuvres sont marquées par l’engagement. Plus d'infos
 
Du 15 mars au 13 juillet 2019
Bibliothèque des Abattoirs
Cette exposition présente 140 publications singulières issues de l'exil espagnol choisies par Javier Campillo de l'Instituto Cervantes et commissaire de l’exposition. Cette sélection couvre la période de 1919 jusqu’aux années 1970 avec un fort ancrage entre 1939 et 1950. Plus d'infos
 
Du 15 mars au 13 juillet 2019
Bibliothèque des Abattoirs
En écho avec l’exposition des publications de l'exil espagnol, Sandra Lorenzi (née en 1983, vit et travaille à Montreuil) investit les espaces de la bibliothèque des Abattoirs et y déploie un univers complexe et fictionnel composé de sculptures totémiques, accompagnées de témoignages : À eux, aïeux. Plus d'infos
 
Du 18 au 21 septembre 2019
Galerie des Publics des Abattoirs - Entrée libre
Vernissage le samedi 21 septembre à 12h
Dans le cadre du huitème édition du Festival international du Film grolandais de Toulouse, "Mondo Cannibalis" réunit plus de 80 artistes internationaux qui rendent hommage à l'esthétique mondo et aux films de cannibales. Plus d'infos
 
  • Carolee Schneemann, "Parts of a Body House". Texte. In : Wolf Vostell & Dick Higgins. Fantastic Architecture, [New York] : Something Else Press, 1969. Pages 62, 65 – 72, 77 – 80
Du 19 septembre au 8 février 2020
Bibliothèque des Abattoirs
Les Abattoirs rendent hommage à l'artiste Carolee Schneemann (1939-2019) avec une exposition Livres, publications, textes et documents à la Bibliothèque des Abattoirs, co-produite avec le cdla (Centre du livre d'artistes, Saint-Yrieix-la-Perche), et avec la présentation de l’installation Precarious (2009), appartenant à la Collection des Abattoirs. Plus d'infos
 
  • "Abstract Expressionnist Portrait of Donald Trump", 2018 (détail) © The Artist, Collection privée, courtesy Michael Werner Gallery, New York and London
Du 20 septembre au 26 janvier 2020
les Abattoirs
Cette rétrospective, première exposition de cette ampleur dans un musée en France depuis 1999, de l'artiste américain Peter Saul (né en 1934) couvre la carrière d’un des tout derniers contemporains du Pop Art, depuis la fin des années 1950 jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Elle rassemble près d'une centaine d'œuvres (peintures, arts graphiques, etc.), pour certaines inédites, ainsi qu'un ensemble d'archives. Plus d'infos
 
Du 27 septembre au 5 janvier 2020
les Abattoirs
Depuis avril 2019 Rose Béton invite des artistes à faire de Toulouse une galerie à ciel ouvert, une ville plus que jamais colorée. Pour un temps fort désormais incontournable de la biennale, trois artistes de la scène internationale s'installent aux Abattoirs.  Plus d'infos
 
  • Marion Mounic, "Open", 2018, boîtier d’enseigne lumineuse, néon flexible sur batterie, machine à brouillard, © Marion Mounic ; photo : Cyril Boixel
Du 22 novembre 2019 au 9 février 2020
les Abattoirs
Mezzanine Sud - Prix des amis des Abattoirs accompagne et met en avant des artistes émergents de l'art contemporain en lien avec l'Occitanie. Les lauréats bénéficient d'une exposition et d'une aide à la production. Charlie Aubry, le Collectif PFFF et Marion Mounic sont les artistes retenus de cette édition 2019. Plus d'infos