Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in Toulouse, FRAC Midi-Pyrénées

Sentimental Products by Joël Andrianomearisoa

From 2 february to 28 may 2017
 
les Abattoirs
Sentimental Product by Joël Andrianomearisoa

Joël Andrianomearisoa has created a Boutique Sentimentale in nearly every space of the museum. In the resource centre, his "Bibliothèque sentimentale" plays on the nature of the place to arouse emotion – games of love and games of chance. He will lead you on an intimate journey through different parts of the museum, from the restaurant to the book shop, passing by the courtyards and even the surrounding streets.

Joël Andrianomearisoa (born in 1977 in Madagascar) swiftly turned towards art after having studied architecture, though retaining a sense of space – especially “forgotten” living areas. Black has priority in his work, be it paper, plastic, fabric, canvas or large-scale installations - he never loses track of the sentiment and sensitivity which lay behind the formalist side of monochrome. He has been pursuing the "Sentimental Products" project for a few years now – everyday objects are created or distorted by their titles or the way in which they’re displayed. Ludicrous objects, exclusive creations, ready-mades...they breathe dignity back into the daily routine.

Joël Andrianomearisoa created a Boutique sentimentale especially for the first floor of Les Abattoirs: 40 years after the Boutique aberrante, put in place by Daniel Spoerri for the opening of the Centre Pompidou. You are invited to follow him on an intimate journey to different parts of the museum, from the restaurant to the bookshop, passing by the courtyards and even the surrounding streets – he gives other meaning and words to the neglected spaces of the museum. He leads us on a sentimental paper chase, with traces of his passage left here and there: texts stuck to the wall, love letters slipped into books... In the resource centre, his "Bibliothèque sentimentale" plays on the function of the place, introducing games of love and chance.

 "Sentimental Products by Joël Andrianomearisoa" is a comprehensive project, evolving during the exhibition, various events and surrounding elements (posters, social media, Sentimental Party, etc), up until the dispersal of the "Boutique sentimentale on the last days of the exhibition. For, "even if the objects are not free, the sentiments are".

Share your experience:
#sentimentalproducts
#sentimentalabattoirs

Musée d'art moderne et contemporain à Toulouse, FRAC Midi-Pyrénées

Sentimental Products by Joël Andrianomearisoa

Du 2 février au 28 mai 2017
 
les Abattoirs
Sentimental Product by Joël Andrianomearisoa

Dans les espaces d’exposition, Joël Andrianomearisoa crée une Boutique Sentimentale. À la médiathèque, sa "Bibliothèque sentimentale", se joue de la nature du lieu afin de faire surgir l’émotion : autant de jeux de l’amour et du hasard. Sur un mode intimiste, il nous invite également à le suivre dans les différents lieux du musée, du restaurant à la librairie, en passant par les cours.

Joël Andrianomearisoa (né en 1977 à Madagascar) s’est tourné rapidement vers l’art après des études d’architecture, mais il en a gardé le sens de l’espace, notamment des espaces de vie oubliés. Privilégiant le noir, sensible aux matières, notamment les tissus et les papiers, il s’adonne aussi bien à des toiles qu’à de vastes installations, sans perdre le sentiment et le sensible derrière le formalisme possible du monochrome, son thème de prédilection, par exemple en réutilisant comme matière des vêtements. Depuis plusieurs années, il poursuit le projet "Sentimental Products" dans lequel des objets usuels sont produits ou détournés par leurs titres, mais toujours pour leur valeur sentimentale. Objets dérisoires, créations exclusives, ready-mades… redonnent de la noblesse au quotidien.

Joël Andrianomearisoa crée pour l’Étage contemporain une Boutique sentimentale, 40 ans après le Musée sentimental et la Boutique aberrante que Daniel Spoerri avait imaginés pour l’ouverture du Centre Pompidou. Sur un mode intimiste, il nous invite également à le suivre dans les différents lieux du musée, du restaurant à la librairie, en passant par les cours et même les rues de la ville, donnant un sens et des mots aux espaces oubliés des Abattoirs. Il nous guide dans un jeu de pistes sentimental, laissant çà et là des traces de son passage : textes apposés aux murs, lettres d’amour glissées dans les livres… Dans la médiathèque, sa "Bibliothèque sentimentale" se joue de la nature du lieu, au rythme des  jeux de l’amour et du hasard.

Conçu comme un projet global, "Sentimental Products by Joël Andrianomearisoa" évolue au fur et à mesure de l’exposition et des événements qui l’accompagnent (affiches, réseaux sociaux, Sentimental Party, etc.), jusqu’à la dispersion de la "Boutique sentimentale" les derniers jours de l’exposition, car ”si les objets sont payants, les sentiments sont gratuits".


Partagez vos expériences du projet sur les réseaux :
#sentimentalproducts
#sentimentalabattoirs